RSS

[Q] Kindle Fire Stuck in Yellow Triangle After Attempted Root

04 Apr

Try this:

1) Download v6 of the Kindle Fire Utility from here. (The forum thread can be found here)
2) Extract the files into a folder anywhere (but remember where, obviously)
3) Go into the folder, then into ‘drivers’ and open up adb_usb.ini in a text editor and add “0x18D1” (without the quotes) on a line underneath “0x1949”
4) Open up Device Manager and find “kindle”. It should have a yellow triangle near it.
5) Download fastboot.exe from here
6) Open up command prompt and navigate to wherever you saved fastboot to.
7) Run the command “fastboot oem idme bootmode 4000”
8) Power off your device by holding down the power button for ~10 seconds and turn it back on, and this time don’t hit the power button to go into TWRP. It should move past the yellow triangle after a few seconds and boot into Kindle. Hope this helps!

I tried this and it won’t work, what am I doing wrong  ?
Why is there a step 4? Is it only there so I check if kindle shows up or do I have to update its driver so there is no yellow triangle anymore?

EDIT:
So I managed to get it running. What I did is I added the “0x18D1” as in step 3 but after that I opened my device manager and by clicking on kindle (that has yellow triangle next to it) I updated its driver. I chose the location of adb_usb.ini that I edited. After that I ran Kindle Fire Utility and chose option 1 (Boot mode) and in the following menu I tried all of the options. In the option 3 (Recovery) it did something and now every time I boot kindle it goes to the yellow triangle but by pressing power button once it starts normal boot.

Ok, but still I would like to get it completely back to normal if possible so if anyone can help, thanks

 

Referenced by: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=23038503

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “[Q] Kindle Fire Stuck in Yellow Triangle After Attempted Root

  1. Daniel

    May 31, 2012 at 4:38 PM

    Hey. I tried the above method, but after step 7, it brings up a error message saying “The program can’t start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.”

    Please Help

     
    • Sergio

      April 25, 2013 at 12:53 AM

      Reboot computer… i had the same error but i resolved it with that!

       

Leave a Reply

 
